Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need help with my popping.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Grunge_Rocker, Aug 11, 2004.

1. I have always played fingerstyle bass, and self taught myself how to do slap.

I didn't really incorporate popping just learned to be quick and 99% accurate with my thumb. Now I have learned the "proper" slapping technique with thumb pop, I can't for the like of me get the popping right. I want to thump thump before I pop, and I also have gotten stuck in the same rythms.

I was frustrated trying to learn from this one guy in a music store one day, and he saw my slapping style and said. " Well, thats cool you got your own thing going on" . I kinda felt like that wasn't good enough, or maybe I am just a bit concered with being the best player I can be.

Any exercises or suggestions you guys have for popping? Like I said I can slap like crazy with my thumb all day, but am weak in my popping.

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I think this is something that always seems strange to me as well - so I have always grown up with the assumption that whenever somebody says "Slap Bass" - they mean slap/pop - it's taken as read!

So it started with 16th note funk - slowing down the tempo and subdividing the bar further - for me it's alays been about playing 16th/32nd notes that would be nearly impossible with just finger style - so you can get from a thumb slap to a pop almost instantaneously and make the notes shorter because of the percussive nature of your playing.