Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nomadic Herder, Aug 20, 2000.

1. Hi. I'm new to the whole bass thing. I know how to play, but haven't had enough money to get a bass. I'm in a punk band, and am looking for a cheap beginner bass. $250 and under, not including amps, etc. Cuz im kinda poor being 14 and working with a minimal allowance thing. Anywho, do you have any reccomendations on some good basses? thanks.

-tom

2. There are probably several good choices out there. A Made in Mexico (MIM for short)Fender Precision seems to be around $200 most everywhere and from what the guys in punk bands say it's got what it takes. On ebay there are some basses from a company called Sonica. Not many people have heard of them but they have some very high quality equipment and I haven't seen one go for more than about $175. They are brand new.

Since you are new, you should do a search of the archives of this forum for threads that will answer more questions. This topic has been discussed to here and I'm sure that you will find what you are looking for.

Hey Biski! Can you hook this guy up?

3. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Anyway, if you have $250 to burn, I suggest you get a Squier Affinity P-bass. I played one a while back and I thought it sounded better than the low-end Fenders. They're going for $149 at guitar center now, so if you got one, you'd still have some cash left to start saving up for that combo (one thing at a time, though).

Will C.:cool:

4. Biski2Dope

Biski2Dope

Mar 26, 2000