Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need some advice on playing with a drummer..

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassplayingdan, Feb 18, 2003.

1. I'm not totally sure this is the right thread for this but I have a problem: I'm in a band with a drummer who is good but his problem is that he likes to add in mad crazy fills at random times. I was wondering how you guys dealt with this problem if you ever have. I need suggestions on how to play along to crazy drum fills.

2. pyrosquee

pyrosquee

Apr 24, 2002
    I've been playing with drummers ever since i started playing bass. whether it be my dad or the dummer for my band i'm ussually playing with one. and i've had the same problem. as long as you can find a system to when and how long the drum rolls ussually go for, you can just slide the note you were last playing up the neck a bit and hold it. Or if its a pretty long roll, you can just start at your G string and play a fill and work your way down to the E.
    it can get pretty frustrating sometimes but you'll get the hang of it. playing with a drummer, and you and him comunicating, developes your and his style.

:bassist: PyRo :bassist:

3. alright ill try that.. I can play with a drummer really well as long as he isnt doing crazy fills or drum rolls.

4. No_Fingures

No_Fingures

Jun 17, 2002
    Boston Ma
    go all out war. if he takes your time you take his. I use to be in a band with a death metal drummer. between his double bass and toms toms i had no ****en roo. So i made the most innoying basslines possible. Also taught my guitarist tuning down th who knows where the same lesson

5. id rather get something done than fight.. unless he makes me really mad. Hes more of a jazzy player and im more rock/punk/funk with very little jazz experience. I would rather adapt to his style than make him mad by doing the opposite.