1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I need some advice...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by lkngro, May 9, 2010.

1. So I'm a freshman in high school (refrain from laughter, please) and I play bass in this band with some friends of mine. We initially got together to play the variety show at our school, which went really well. Then some of our friends started asking us to play shows at parties and stuff. We were all for it.

So it turns out that a couple of these shows we're playing are giving us money (I don't even know why, but I'm not complaining). Now, the variety show at our school was in early March and we haven't practiced since. The parties we're playing are in early July, and we need to practice. The thing is, my guitarist and singer aren't willing to actually get their **** together and set a day aside to practice once in a while.

I'm getting pissed, and every week I've been saying to them, "Hey, we HAVE to practice if we want to play half-decently at these shows." And they've just been like, "Oh, yeah, um, I can't do it this week because...." So just yesterday, we had decided to practice, and so I call my guitarist up and ask him what time, and he says that he can't do it becuase he's at his uncle's. WHAT THE ****?!?!

I would quit this thing, but I want the cash that these shows are paying us, and also, if I do quit, there's only one other drummer that I know (but I'm not exactly willing to work with him) and there aren't ANY half-decent guitarists.

How should I knock some sense into these guys?

2. ForSix

ForSix

Jul 22, 2008
    I've been there.

At your ages, it's not surprising to find bandmembers that don't want to play.

Find a new band.

3. Yeah, but there aren't any other guys who play.