Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need some buying help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassgurly26, Aug 30, 2002.

1. bassgurly26

bassgurly26

Aug 30, 2002
    Chardon, Ohio
    ok i know this will sound pretty stupid but i'm just getting into this whole bass thing and i need to know what to buy. I know the obvious is a bass and an amp but i just keep hearing all this about these different cables and stuff and its all so confusing to me. i'm also in a small budget and need some affordable stuff. :confused: i know i sound really stupid but please help me out!

2. Don't worry, most questions arent stupid. Mostly, all you will need to get started is:
    1. Bass
    2. Amp
    3. Cord

1. Shopping used will give you the best buy, but if nothing around you, look at lower cost basses from brands like Fender (squire series), Ibanez, Peavey, etc... Another brand everyone is talking about is Essex, which are sold a lot on ebay. Most of the time you get what you paid for, just try to play it before you buy it so that you know you like it. Just make sure it is in working conditions and the neck is straight.

2. What you probably would want to just get started would be a small combo amp. I would reccomend Peavey for the brand to look at. They sound ok and are reliable and cheap. You are just starting so just make sure it doesnt rattle or sound funny.

3. Regular instrument cable. Any music store will have them in varying lengths, many that will cost 5-10 dollars.

Good luck, and remember all this is my opinion. If you know anybody that plays bass (or guitar) it might be useful to drag them along to look at stuff with you, just b/c they have an idea of what stuff might be worth.

jtbp

3. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Welcome to Talkbass!