Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need someone...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bessie, Aug 12, 2002.

1. Bessie

Bessie

Aug 11, 2002
    Vancouver,Canada
    Can anyone here tell me or give me tips on how to properly tune my bass. I have a 4 string with frets. It's my beautiful new bass. I'm still learning how to play and so far I've taught myself everything I know. But tuning is the one thing I can't quite learn myself. I *HATE* tuners with a passion. I would be really grateful if anybody could help me out.

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    You need to get an external sound source to give you the right pitch (guitar, piano, tuning pipes, tuning notes from a teaching aid or magazine CD like Guitarist mag).

Tune the strings from thick to thin E A D G.

Having got one string in say E you can tune the bass to itself by the following methods.

Play the E string at the fifth fret and then play the open A, tune the A string to match the E. Just keep going up, A 5th fret to D string etc.

Play a harmonic on the E string at the fifth fret and match it to a harmonic on the A string at the seventh fret. Then go up A string 5th fret to D string 7th fret etc.

NB A harmonic is the term for a false harmonic, which is obtained on a string instrument by lightly touching the string instead of pressing the string against the fret. After plucking the string in the normal manner remove the fretting (or not in this case) finger.

If I might give a less objective observation, find a tuner you hate the least and learn to love it.

3. Bessie

Bessie

Aug 11, 2002
    Vancouver,Canada