1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I need strings that last

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Joel951, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Joel951

Joel951

Oct 27, 2011
    Okay. I need your advice guys about this matter. I am not a gigging musician and so I need to find a good set of strings that would last for atleast a year or two. (I am not into flats because I love to play slap bass)

What can you recommend?

my bass is a yamaha trb 1006 bass (6 string)

2. curbowkid

curbowkid Guest

Jun 27, 2011
    Brooklyn, New York
    Elixir

3. Evil Undead

Evil Undead

Oct 31, 2009
    Another for Elixir

4. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    Flats

5. Joel951

Joel951

Oct 27, 2011
    oh okay. . are elixirs better than DR extra life strings?

6. Flats. People keep them on for decades.

7. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Definitely a coated string if you want that bright roundwound sound, or as others have said flats will last forever but have a dull/dead sound.

Elixir's are coated, but the coating will fray within a few months...kinda defeats the purpose. They also cost twice as much as some other strings...also defeats the purpose.

I would go with DR Extra Lifes, or Dragon Skins if you want a brighter, punchier sound.
    D'Addario coated strings are good too, and cost less...but I prefer DR.
    Coated Round Wound Electric Bass Strings from Bass Strings Online

8. If you want non-coated, get DRs. If you want coated, get coated DRs. ;-)

(Although Elixirs have excellent life as well with great consistency of tonal character.)