Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need the idiots guide to intonating a fretless.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Jerry J, Feb 5, 2001.

1. Jerry J

Jerry J Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2000
    P-town, OR
    Well folks I couldn't find anything on this in the archives so I thought that I would see if anyone here has done this.

I'm a newbie to the world of fretlessness and I've noticed that the intonation, at the 12th position, appears to be off on my bass. I checked it with my tuner and sho' nuf it is. Is this a weird fretless phenomena or am I not checking it correctly? I'm pretty much thinking that I setup the intonation just like I would do on a fretted bass, right?

Also, Gruffpuppy has a really good question, on this page, about fretless fingerboard relief. I'm interested in hearing some thoughts on relief on a fretless. Thanks y'all.

2. Intonation on a fretless is a more personalized matter than a fretted Bass. Generally, if your bass has fret markers on the side, you adjust the harmonic to be right on top of where the fret would be, not above or below it.

3. Jerry J

Mar 27, 2000
    P-town, OR
    Ah yes, it is an unlined fingerboard with top markers.

What I've found is that it rings the harmonic at the 12th position but when I press down at that point I have to roll my finger, what seems quite a distance to get the tuning right on the tuner. Maybe I need to lower my strings or maybe adjust the neck more flat for less relief. But as I said I'm still real new to the fretless arena.

Thanks for your reply, Reedo35

4. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    If you're rolling your finger towards the bridge to get the note in tune, move your saddle towards the neck; if you're rolling your finger towards the neck, move your saddle towards the butt of the bass.