Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need to develop my fingering

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Philthy, Mar 26, 2004.

1. Philthy

Philthy Supporting Member

Jun 12, 2001
    Wallington, NJ
    I've been playing bass now for 10+ years but I've always used a pick. However, I more and more want to develop using my fingers. I started using my fingers for maybe 2 or three slower songs but eventually I'd like to be able to use them for our faster more up beat rock tunes without getting tired and falling behind.

Are there any suggestions on excercises, technique, style, etc that can help me improve and build up my finger strength and endurance? Any websites online, threads on this board, etc that you can point me to?

Thanks for your help. Much appreciated.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    You could practice scales with a metronome and increase the bpm as you advance but that could get boring.

Maybe you could practice songs that you would have to use a pick with, fingerstyle.

As a mainly fingerstyle player I am having the same problem trying to learn pick playing.

Hope that helps

3. I just took a course on www.musicdojo.com that would help you alot. The class was Mastering Right and Left Hand Technique. Of course, you do not need to take a class to learn to pluck. Just practice various scales and make sure you alternate fingers when plucking.

Adam Nitti taught class I mention above. He is a great bassist and a very thorough teacher. He gave us various permutations and practice exercises to work on that has added speed and dexterity to both of my hands. If you have $50.00 and 30 minutes a day for a month, it is well worth the $$$.

4. Philthy

Jun 12, 2001
    Wallington, NJ