1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I need to learn how to read music for bass, how do i do it?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by petchimp123, Oct 18, 2008.

1. petchimp123

petchimp123

Oct 22, 2007
    I've been playing bass for 3 years and I can only read tabs for bass. Right now I'm interested in joining jazz band. I talked to the band director and he said I don't have to audition and I just have to show up next week for sheet music and other information.

I told him that I know very little music theory, but I'm willing to get a bass teacher and learn how to use music theory. Could someone show me examples on how to read from the bass clef? It seems very hard for some reason.

2. go to studybass.com and check it out.

Really, there are about a zillion online sites that can teach you how to read. The key to being GOOD at it, though, is just like playing your bass: daily practice.

Do a search on TalkBass and see who likes what reading method books.

IamGroot likes this.
  3. Quap

Quap

Oct 14, 2008
    Austin, Texas
    Do you know your Major and Minor scales?

A lot of Jazz bass in walking lines made up from the chord changes of the piece. You can do a lot with just those scales

As far as reading music, get a beginner book, or look online, and practice.

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Intergalactic Mind Space CA
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    After a few hundred hours, it becomes quite a bit easier.

Here's some info to start with:
    Online study of music theory. http://www.teoria.com/ Check out the tutorials, exercises and reference(dictionary).

The following TB threads may also be helpful:
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=473968