Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need to learn how to utilize the use of more than two fingers, so help please!

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by The_Ryst, Apr 15, 2005.

1. Alright, you guys are really, really fast player, so here's the deal. I'm 14 years old and I've been playing bass for 3 years. I can play relatively fast with two fingers, but I want to get really fast. As in Sheehan, Myung, Jaco type fast. I'm curious what the best way to build up dexterity using three fingers (or four) on the right would be. What finger pattern should I use (or do you use?)

Thanks a bunch,
    Brian H.
    The Ryst.

2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    the only way to build up speed is the get the technique in question right at slow speed and practice. There's no secret to it - it's all about training your hand to respond to brain signals in a more 'grouped' way. When you try something new fast, your brain is trying to send too many new commands to your fingers at once. So start slow and work up.

However, that said, switching to three or four fingers in your right hand will probably not give you much of a jump in speed. You mention Jaco - only ever used two fingers as far as I know. My cohost here, Mr Manring, uses two fingers for all his fast twiddly stuff. I use two fingers, or I add my thumb and use a modified version of a technique shown on Victor Wooten's first video (thumb down thumb up first finger second finger), or a legato technique where the speed is all in the left hand.

There are clearly some kinds of line that work well with three fingers - the Steve Harris gallop being the most obvious example - but for the most part, two fingers will get you where you need to be. :) The key is slow practice, speeding up very gradually.

Steve
    www.stevelawson.net