Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

i need to progress but can't

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Mogo, Jan 3, 2002.

1. Mogo

Mogo

Jan 3, 2002
    well i've been playing for about 4 yrs but can't seem to progess i just stay the same old same. I'm im a band & we only really play r own stuff but i cant put good rock riffs to them the covers we do i can pull apart and make my own but can i not do this with r own stuff:confused:

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Mogo,

This is all too common. All of us as players, at some time, reach a plateau. Our playing levels off, we get into a rut. Breaking out of the rut and moving to the next level feels impossible. What you need is a springboard. Something to jump start your batteries so to speak. Here are some ideas:

1. Take a few lessons (pick the teacher well). Learn the theory behind developing a good bass line. Get a teacher willing to both work with your songs as well as introduce you to some really new stuff

2. Start to transcribe songs. Not only bass lines but melodies too. Transcribe songs you like as well as genres that are new to you.

3. Try to develop some new techniques, slap, chordal playing, tapping, etc

4. Jam with other musicians

5. Get a "looper" such as a Boomerang or Line 6 DL4. They are wonderful practice tools that let you set up a groove and play over them, endlessly. You can experiment with some new stuff.

6. Read "Effortless Mastery" by Kenny Werner. The book has the potential to change your life. It has to do with removing the ego from the playing so we can play directly from our heart and soul.

7. Develop new bass lines from your cover tunes. Using a well developed bass line to start with is better than starting at nothing.