Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need your input on the future of my rig...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by swa240z, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Hey all,

I have been playing for about 8 months and I have recently started playing with some guys I know. As a result, I'm trying to decide what to do with my present rig. I'm currently running a Peavey Combo 210TX that I bought new in July. Given that I didn't know much about bass gear at the time I bought it, I'm pretty sure I got screwed on the price (paid $700 new). The amp puts out 210w@4ohms or 300w@2ohms. IMO, this thing doesn't sound bad, although I have heard better.

Now my dilemma. I'm now getting to the point that I want to add a cabinet to round out the tone by adding either a 410, 212, or 115 - OR - completely replace the combo. I've seen some pretty good new and used deals on the Peavey 410TVX and 115BVX cabs - but if I'm already going in the wrong direction, I don't want to make it worse.

I like the sound of the Eden stuff (kinda pricey tho), but their 115 isn't available in 4 ohm, so I'd have to go with a 212 or 410. The thinking here is that I could go ahead and add a 4ohm Eden cab now and eventually replace the combo with a separate cab and amp in the future. If I go this route, i'm locked into 4 ohms - which I'm not convinced is a bad thing.

The other option is to sell the combo now and just buy a single cab and amp (both used) and hold out for the 2nd cab until later (assuming I don't have the $$$ to do it all now).

Any thoughts on which route to go?

Also, if I sell the combo, any idea what it should be worth?

Thanks!

Steve

2. Fishface

Fishface

Jul 26, 2002
    Denver, Colorado