Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

i pod question

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by charles21o7, Oct 24, 2004.

1. im new to these things, and im prolly gonna buy one, so please tell me what you can about em, good and bad. I know they are made buy Mac so does that mean they only work on those apple mac computer things?!?!? Im not very knowledgeable about computer things so please keep it elementary . :D thanks a million.

2. From what I know, the way an Ipod works is like this

You purchase an Ipod, and it comes with a software program called Itunes. Itunes will run on windows as well as macs, so no need to worry.

With Itunes, you're able to load mp3s into your ipod, buy new songs in mp3 format, and play mp3s and cds on your computer. It's like a all-in-one media player.

I don't have an ipod of my own, but I imagine this is how it works. but there are loads of people here who do.

3. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I got an iPod about 2 or 3 weeks ago and absolutely LOVE it!!!!! And, you're correct about it working on both the Mac and Windows-based machines.

I have a Dell and the iTunes program runs perfectly. You don't need a Mac to enjoy and operate the iPod.

4. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Are you getting the full size or the mini?

5. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    I recommend the full size.

I have a 10 gig iPod and I wish I bought a bigger one. Its not even that big physically, but storage wise they are great.

You can never have too much room. I have 11.5 gigs of music on my comp and that number is always growing. In addition to that Id like to use my iPod as a storage and transport device for other files like digital pictures but I cant anymore since I ran out of space.