1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I ran my amp at 4ohms into an 8phm cab whoops

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by panama, Sep 13, 2010.

1. panama

panama

May 26, 2009
    Detroit
    So this weekend I jammed with a new band and rather than haul my cabs one of the dudes said I could use his Emperor 4x12, which is rated 8ohm. I forgot to switch my VB-2 from 4 to 8 ohms. The cabinet didn't fart or blow or anything, which was a relief, but I did notice my head was pretty hot after about an hour of jamming. No harm no foul? Which piece of equipment would have got the short end of the stick if something went wrong? Did I shorten the life of my tubes?

2. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    if it didn't crap out, you'll probably be ok. just remember for the future

3. I am a newbie on tube grounds, but I think you just shortened the life of your power tubes. Maybe some potentional harm to your trannies?

4. panama

panama

May 26, 2009
    Detroit
    Yeah I will. I don't have the cash to be replacing someone;s blown speakers!

That said - the Emperor sounded pretty incredible, but I like the tightness of my 10s.

5. panama

panama

May 26, 2009
    Detroit
    Well, after we jammed and I had turned off my amp and realized what I had done I promptly switched it to 8 and turned it back on. Everything seemed to be in fine working order. If I have to replace my power tubes sooner as a result then oh well.

6. Then no harm done!

7. panama

panama

May 26, 2009
    Detroit
    I'm new to the tubes too

8. Grooveman1961

Grooveman1961

May 8, 2006
    No harm done

You didn't hurt anything. You ran at lower power and slightly reduced freq response, thats all.

9. rickdog

rickdog Gold Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2010