Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I realized that I didn't own a Fender...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Slater, Oct 4, 2005.

1. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I've been playing bass for about seven years now, and I always seemed to own a Fender. I began thinking that since I sold my Classic '60s Jazz several months ago, I've been Fenderless!

So...

...I bought a Classic '50s P-Bass!

I went to a local music store looking for a Fender P-Bass. I played every model in the store, from Standard MIMs to American Deluxes. For me the Classic '50s beat them all! Not too heavy, wide but comfy neck, and that classic (no pun intended) P-Bass tone! The Fender specs aren't very specific about what pickup is in the bass "1 Precision Bass Split Single-Coil Pickup", but it sounds great with the stock pickup.

However, the store I was shopping in only had a Honey-Blonde in stock, and I really wanted Black, and they "weren't sure" how long it would take to get a Black one. So, I took advantage of Guitar Trader's 30th Anniversary Fender Sale, and my Black Classic '50s P-Bass arrived today, and it's plays and sounds just as good as the one I auditioned.

This bass will be a backup for my Bongo, but it's getting all of the gig-time this weekend!

2. weeding

weeding

May 17, 2005
    Hating you right about...... now!

3. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    Nice score, congrats!

4. Audiophage

Audiophage

Jan 9, 2005
    Nice find. I've been looking for something like that for myself actually...

5. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

Black with gold guard? GORGEOUS!

6. That's the exact bass I want now. I have to stop buying Jazzes.

7. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Very sexy. I want another P now.