1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I 'Skipped' Ear Training

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tjnkoo, Apr 3, 2013.

1. tjnkoo

tjnkoo

Apr 19, 2011
    Metro Atlanta
    I have found myself at an odd crossroads. I was for years self taught and worked on theory and mechanics of the instrument and my ability to get around it, but never ear training. I guess the juvenile me when I started just found it boring but now that I've got a good teacher and am heading to college for bass next year I just feel a little bit of disappointment that I did that. I always read music and learned songs by tabs/sheet music/chord charts/etc.

I take higher level theory classes, read well (I'm a clasical upright player as well), like to think I play decently well, I can improvise, but due to a lack of ear training I have trouble with even basic dications and such, let alone being able to figure out a song by ear in good time. People who are in low chairs with bad grades in theory and such beat me on ear training tests every time. I've gotten better, but not good enough to keep up with my actual ability to play and get around the instrument if that makes sense. Any advice besides 'just start' that you guys can offer?

My teacher has given me brief ear training assignments but he is more geared towards playing using theory, less ear training wise. Great teacher, just figured some extra opinions would be good.

I've yet to hear another decent musician who doesn't have an ear. I guess I 'skipped' ear training.

2. Your ear is probably more finely tuned than you realize. You do play the upright in tune, right? It's more a question of applying your existing skills in a new format (figuring out tunes). Just keep at it, you will probably catch up in a year or two.