Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I stepped up But Im not sure if I need a new bridge.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Iruleonbass, Jun 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iruleonbass

Iruleonbass

May 29, 2005
    New York
    Long title. Anyways I finally stepped up and bought a jazz bass, I read on reviews that the bridge is pretty crappy on the standards. And everyone recomended the bassass II. Do you guys think this is a good idea or bad idea? In other words, a worthwhile investment, becuase for the most part upgrades are always good. :meh:

Im also going to be buying a new pickguard. How do I go about installing it? Im a real noob when it it comes to taking things apart, just like in general, not even talking about guitars or bass's.

So yeah any other upgrades that I should get while im getting this work done would be nice to know.

Thanks
    Sean

2. gapupten

gapupten

Dec 29, 2004
    I have added a Badass to a jazz bass. Nice quality bridge. I did not think that it added much except weight, so I took it off and sold it. Others have found improvements in sustain and it is surely a better quality bridge than the original. Just not worth it to me.
    As for the pickguard, you just unscrew the little screws and lift the pickguard over the pickups and slide it out. Slide the new one in and screw it down. It's that simple.... If you get a pick guard that matches exactly. Not all do. I had no problem with a MIM Fender Jazz and a real Fender Pickguard.
    Good luck.

3. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY

Are you having problems with the current bridge? Either tonally or stability wise?