1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I Stink, I Just Do

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Illbay, Mar 14, 2008.

1. Illbay

Illbay

Jan 15, 2008
    Houston, Texas
    Sorry to blast this out onto the 'net like this with no provocation, but I'm so frustrated it's just brimming over.

I have been playing off and on for 35 years, and I just stink. It's not that I'm not "musical," or have no ear, or whatever. I just seem to have a physical limitation. I'm not fast, or smooth, whatever. I make mistake after mistake.

Learning to slap? I forever SOUND like a guy learning to slap.

Playing fast riffs? "Sweeping"? My MOTHER sweeps better than me.

At this point I just feel like flinging every single axe out onto the street and letting the garbage pickup collect 'em tomorrow morning (can you imagine driving by and seeing an Alembic neck sticking out of the garbage can?)

Part of the problem is finding anyone who wants to play, and has the same level of interest I do. If I were a bad golfer, at least I'd find SOMEONE to play golf with (in fact, I'd probably be popular).

But who the **** wants to fool with an over-the-hill spastic bass-player?

I give up, I really do.

2. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    I gave up bass guitar for about 5 year. But bass guitar playing came back even more satisfying the second time around. during this time I was playing another stringed instrument however.

3. p-nut95

p-nut95

May 27, 2007
    Philadelphia
    Come on dude......I'm sure part of this dillema is negative attitude.......Maybe you watch a bit too much youtube. I sometimes do, theres a lot of dudes on there that a crazy. It's kind of discouraging. But keep ur head up keep trying. If you quit u'll look back and regret doing it I garran-t. :smug:(DONT THROW AWAY THE ALEMBIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!give it to me:hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper:)