1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I think I figured out the modes

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by vishalicious, Nov 9, 2011.

1. vishalicious

vishalicious

Mar 31, 2011
    Yonkers, NY
    Hi all. I'm a beginner still, but I think that I learned something that might help other beginners yesterday. I think that I figured out the key difference between the modes and the scales they're based on:

1. The scales focus on a set of notes with specific relationships to each other (patterns or intervals).

2. Modes focus on a set of notes in which having the correct notes is vital, not playing them in the same pattern or using the interval spacing that the scale specifies.

I wrote an entry about this last night in my beginner's bass blog. If its helpful to anyone, here it is:

I figured out the modes of the major scale

Also, if I'm wrong about any of this, please let me know! ;)

2. DBCrocky

DBCrocky

Oct 18, 2011
    Cary, NC
    You're getting it.

I don't know if I would say the modes are defined by their notes.
    A Dorian Mode has the same intervals regardless of which root you use (D Dorian, Eb Dorian, etc). But the modes of a particular scale all will have the same notes as the scale they are based on. I think you understand this.

Now that you know what the Modes are and how to derive them, the next step is to start to compare them. For instance how does a Mixolydian Mode differ from the Ionian (Major Scale)? How does this difference make the sound of the scale change? How do basslines written in the Mixolydian sound different from basslines written in the Major scale?

Next, you can start to hear the sound of the different possible scale tones:
    How does flatting the major 7th to a dominant 7th sound?
    How does flatting the major 3rd to a minor 3rd sound?