1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I think I just smoked my 1X15

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by keiththebassist, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Well, I knew I had this coming eventually. My hartke 1x15 began making that horrible ripped speaker cone distorted sound last night at practice. Cleared anything away from amps and cabs that could be vibrating and it sounded a hell of a lot like the actual speaker was just done. I suppose I had it coming, its old, I bought it used and have been using it as a mismatch along with my 4x10 (I naively thought the 10" would do highs and lows would go to the 15", I was a total noob, forgive me). Anyway, The 4x10 still sounds killer but I really like getting the extra power of running at 4 ohms by using two 8 ohm cabs instead of just one 8 ohm cab.

Sooooo, I'm officially in the market for a new (used) cab. I'd really love to just stick with what works and get a matching Hartke 4x10 XL but they can be a little tricky to find. Also, I'm playing with the idea of totally different cabs altogether, I really love the sound of the aluminum cone XL cab, but just because I like roast beef doesn't mean I never want to eat turkey. Playing with the idea of some Mesa stuff, perhaps an Ampeg, but IMO the Hartke stuff sounds every bit as good and is way cheaper (usually).

I guess I'm just spinning my wheels here, not sure the direction to go. But I am definitely replacing the 15 and I'd like to still have two separate cabs so I can take only one to a smaller gig. I'd love to hear from anybody who runs the Hartke transient attack HA series amp and what kind of cabs you use with it to help sway my decision or just general suggestions for cabs that you like (interested only in 8 ohm stuff). Thanks!

2. Do it right and get another matching Hartke 4x10 XL.