1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

i think i'm bored with bass...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by decemberflower, Jan 3, 2007.

1. decemberflower

decemberflower

Jan 3, 2007
    i've been playing bass for 6 years, kind of on and off not too serious about it but i play and i consider myself pretty good.

the thing is i think i'm getting bored of it, i listen to mostly metal and the kind i listen to the bass just sort of follows along playing root notes, its just so boring, i find myself playing along with the lead guitar most of the time, i hate playing the bass parts and rarely changing notes or rhythm, playing stuff that doesnt even sound like the song.

i dont know, probably just the kind of music i listen to, what do you guys think, i'm thinking about buying a guitar

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol

If you feel like playing guitar, go for it. No reason to refrain.

3. are you playing with others?

4. MattD

MattD

Jan 2, 2007
    S.W UK
    What's the harm with playing guitar as well!? Just do it.You'll love it and after a break you'll probably enjoy bass more as well :bassist:

5. Afrokid

Afrokid

Nov 24, 2006
    its def the kind of music u listen to...metal just doesn't have good basslines..or they get so buried in the mix u cant hear them..expand your horizons and u will learn to love bass again....learn day of the baphomets by The Mars Volta...

6. decemberflower

decemberflower

Jan 3, 2007
    ya i'm not playing with others, and i kinda figured it was the music i listen to, i've been trying to listen to other stuff but i really don't like anything near as much as what i listen to, and playing the leads on my bass almost defeats the purpose

i guess i will buy a guitar and try to switch back and forth