1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I think I'm going to have to turn down a band (Leather and Dragon content)

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by oniman7, Aug 1, 2012.

1. So I started talking to a singer yesterday about a band. he was looking for a guitarist for a power metal project, and I mentioned that I'm a bassist.

He's a really excited guy with a great range (C2 - C6) with tons of vibrato. His last band was really solid. He, along with his brother the drummer (still in this project) were the principal songwriters.

I really love this kind of music, but I can't get into the whole scene. He's talking about getting us all to go buy slim leather pants and various props and such (including that hammer). He has a practice space that he rents hourly that he would pay for, would send me most of the songs, but we'd only have to practice a couple times before gigs (doing most of the practicing at home) and gig maybe once a month. I also don't know how successful I could ever be in a band like this.

I am also trying to start an original project, and I really want one of my own (I have started writing songs for it) but I really need to find a guitarist, preferably with vocals, and that is really hard to do in my area. Especially someone our age (I'm 16 going on 17) and drama free. It would be totally different than the above, but still hard rock and metal. It would be pretty much straightforward rock and metal with catchy hooks and such (think some Avenged Sevenfold, Three Days Grace, Black Sabbath, and Tool, but not quite as heavy and coming around to poppier hooks). I have a singing drummer who can do it.

I am also maybe going to be auditioning to play in a classic rock cover band that gigs fairly regularly and makes good money.