1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I think my guitarist and I both need attenuators.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The 0x, Nov 15, 2006.

1. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    As you all know, me & my guitarist love output distortion. Friggin' love it. Unfortunately, my friends have been sending me these comments about our last show:

So yeah, I think it's time that we invested in some attenuators. Particularly, this one:

[​IMG]

I've had lots of good experiences with Ted Weber & his products in the past, so I don't see why this wouldn't be just as good as his other products. My Sceptre is 60-80 watts, and is supposed to peak around 140 when overdriven, so this should be able to handle the wattage, correct? :help:

2. Were you in a small room?

3. KingOfAmps

KingOfAmps Inactive

Your pals are doing you a huge favor telling you the truth because if your plan is to grow an audience it will be extremely difficult to do so if people find your shows physically uncomfortable due to excessive sound levels. No matter how good your songs are.

On the attenuator issue: I would get lower wattage amps before going that route.

4. ihixulu

ihixulu Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2000
    South Shore MA
    Don't you use a doubled rig? Howz 'bout using half for the shows?

5. nad

nad 60 Cycle Humdinger

Sep 22, 2005
    Man I dunno, that compliment/insult seems kinda cool. :D

I saw Sunn O))) in concert once, they were unbelievably loud but that was part of their schtick. I stood off to the side but still enjoyed it immensely.

Apparently in the early days of their madness, Swans used to purposely try to drive their audience out of the room and/or make them sick due to volume pollution. You have to respect that.

6. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.