1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I thought 800RB's didn't die!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by K-Funk, Mar 10, 2008.

1. K-Funk

K-Funk

Sep 24, 2007
    Auburn Hills, MI
    Hooked my '88 800RB up to my 6x10 last night, and it didn't work. The power came on, the lights were on, the speakers moved a little when it powered up. But when I started playing, there was no sound. I checked the fuse; it was fine. Volume knobs were up. I noticed that the little residual "hiss" from the amp (the normal "airy" sound that exists with all amps) increased through the speakers as I moved the 300W volume control, but I still couldn't get bass sounds. The bass was passive, the cables are good, and the cab is almost new and works well. I was plugged into the correct output jack on the back.

Any ideas? Thanks!

2. Yossarian

Yossarian

Jun 24, 2004
    Virginia
    I had that happen to my 800RB once. It was some kind of power supply issue (I don't know much about technical stuff) but I got it fixed without too much trouble. Where did you last play yours? Maybe there was a power surge, or something? Mine was in use and very smoky and dramatic when it happened.

Also, I had a bi-amp issue where, if the bi-amp button was pushed in, that exact situation would happen - no sound, but still the airy hiss from moving the woofer control. Is your bi-amp switch in? I think it should still work with just one cab, but who knows, maybe it's the same issue.

3. If they don't die why do I have one in pieces in my workshop??? You know, I'll have to get round to refurbishing that little beast!

Paul

4. peterbright

peterbright

Jan 23, 2007
    On The Bayou
    Everything dies eventually...some sooner than others.

5. von buck

von buck

Feb 22, 2008
    wolcott ct.