1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I, uh, don't know a lot about Warwicks. Assistance?

Discussion in 'Warwick Basses' started by Hamlet7768, Apr 1, 2013.

1. Hamlet7768

Hamlet7768 Here to chew gum and rock. Still have gum.

Jun 5, 2011
    As the title says, I don't know a lot about Warwicks. Oh sure, I know that they have "the Warwick sound," I know the Rockbass options (roughly), and apparently they have thick necks, but I don't really know what "the Warwick sound" is, or what distinguishes Warwicks from other basses. I mean, they look awesome, and I'm sure I'd like them, but I just don't know a lot.

Anybody care to give a primer on them?

2. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010
    i am fairly new to them as well but this is
    what i have experienced thus far:

warwicks seem to have a signature snarl or growl that seems to be inherent in their basses. a dark, clear mid-range presence that some players love and some don't.
    i have owned a corvette standard bubinga and currently have two thumb basses
    there seems to be a connection to the woods they use in construction IMO.
    my thumb BO is a very bright mid rangey beast that sounds totally unique.
    my old vette had such clarity and depth to its sound.
    my other thumb is very dark and round-a very complex tone.
    i have a friend who owns four WW's and he would echo these statements.
    his NT thumb 4 is truly one of the best sounding basses i have ever heard.
    when i think of warwick, i think of an organic, powerful modern instrument

3. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego