1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I wanna build a lefty Gecko 5

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by vinny, Apr 25, 2006.

1. vinny

vinny

Apr 3, 2006
    Las Vegas, NV.
    But I'm ovewhelmed by the options. Where do I start for all these choices? I currently play an older MIA P & a 4001 Rick. I like the spacing & warm, fat tone of the P, so I'd like to somewhat replicate that. At the same time I'd like to have some bite on a bridge PUP. I just don't know what options will yeild the results I'll like (I may not even know what I'm really looking for) so I'm confused. I've never built a bass before but feel the skills I have in other areas will cross over effectively. So... can you all help me out here? I need suggestions regarding body & neck options (woods, finish, spacing) and any PUP considerations. Also electronic factors I need to bear in mind. So basically, I have no knowledge on the subject other than I'm convinced I could do the actual build if I just knew what pieces I want to buy. One other thing, the Kahler bridge used on the Gecko is angled for the righty. Is there a lefty version of this available? Thanks in advance for any responses & help. I mostly lurk here but I had to jump in with these questions 'cuz I really want to build it & I can't get off the dime without making some of these choices. Vin.

2. Giel

Giel

Sep 9, 2005
    The Netherlands
    Warmoth has had pretty decent customer service, I think they can help you whit all your questions :) Just contact one these guys I'm sure they can help you out..
    http://www.warmoth.com/customerservice/customer.cfm