I wanna start soloing / ad-libbing in jams...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Spikeh, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

And I really don't know where to start... I don't know my fretboard well enough to just go off on one. I can defo hold a groove, and can learn to play any song pretty quickly... and I have no problem with speed... I just don't know where to go / what to do?!

I started playing a standard 12-bar blues riff a while ago, and everyone joined in... I got a few little fills in, but nothing fancy... what canI do to actually help myself get to this stage? I'm aware it doesn't come over night, but I'm most definitely willing to push the boat out and practice, practice practice. Exercises? A teacher? Theory?
  2. Skaboy21

Dec 23, 2004
    W-R NJ
    u wanna start soloing? lol learn ur major and minor pentatonic scales, and all of the E string. with this information alone, you'll have enough in ur arsinal to make an adaquate solo. i mean, with more knowledge of theory and such u will be able to do more, but for now, that's how u want to go. and just remember, rythm. space ur notes to makea great rythm.

jay :bassist:
  3. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

Surely that's the same for most scales? Not just the pentatonic? I know a few scales, but I can't say they could help me in soloing?! Maybe I'm just missing something?
  4. well first of all, have you ever listened to a soloist? and i mean really listened? my advise would be to learn some solo's that you think sound good. then once you have really got them under your fingers, analyse what the soloist is doing. things like phrasing, and if they are playing melodically/harmonically.

i'm not sure what music you listen to, but jazz is the pinnacle of improvisation. if you're really interested in soloing then i would say get a teacher, learn some theory, and start transcribing!

all the best,