1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I want a Jazz Bass to sound like a Music Man

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by EXKid, Oct 1, 2008.

1. EXKid

EXKid

Aug 10, 2008
    HI, Kinda new here.

I have a '92 Music Man Stingray the I have been playing for close to 10 years, and I absolutely love the way that it sounds. It's really a great bass that I'll own forever, as I am kind of married to it now.

I also have recently purchased a 1975 Jazz bass and I love the way that plays. I have been going around and around with pickups in the jazz and nothing compares to how well that Stingray sounds. Any suggestions on what I can do? Adding a pre-amp is certainly a possibility, but, I'd rather not start shotgunning 150 dollar pre-amps after having done similar with pickups already. Any advice?

Thanks

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    A stingray's sound is in the pickup and the placement of it. You're not going to get that out of a jazz bass, short of routing it and dropping in an MM pickup.

3. +1 If, on the other hand, you aren't looking for an exact MM tone, but rather a bigger, wider, more active sound from your J, just drop in a J Retro preamp. It won't sound like a MM, but it will sound like a modern, active instrument.

4. FortessOne

FortessOne

Nov 8, 2004
    Advice? Yes. Don't do it.

5. Thump Jr.

Thump Jr.

Jun 8, 2008
    SW FL
    . . . but you have a Music Man. Is there anything wrong with how it plays?

6. GM60466

GM60466

May 20, 2006
    Land of Lakland
    You'll need magic dust to turn JB into MM.

G

7. ras1983

ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia