I want out.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by H2ODog, Sep 1, 2009.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    I have been playing with this group for three months, did a couple of gigs with them and have one this coming weekend. I find that i'm not enjoying the music we play (surf) as i originally did and miss playing rock.

After this weekend i want to leave, i don't really click with these guys and for a number of reasons but mainly i'm not enjoying playing together any more. I'm having a tough time deciding on how to do it. They are basically nice guys but just not what i'm looking for. How do i get out without them being pissed at me?

2. DblG

DblG

Apr 27, 2005
    Buffalo, NY
    Tell the truth...your heart isn't into it as much as theirs. Offer to stay on until they find a replacement. Make sure they find a replacement within whatever time frame you need to leave by so they don't drag their feet and you're still with them in 6 monthes.

3. MonkeyBass

MonkeyBass

Mar 22, 2009
    Denver, CO
    Be honest, and give them a month to find a replacement.

You've got to be true to yourself.

4. mccartneyman

mccartneyman

Dec 22, 2006
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Managing Editor, Bass Guitars Editor, MusicGearReview.com
    Above all, be honest. If they get mad, so be it. Do what you have to do and consider what makes you happy.

5. polydeathsphere

polydeathsphere

Jan 12, 2009
    New York
    Fake your own death?

or just be honest and tell them you need to move on to other things, everyone here is right :)

6. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA

Fake your own death, LOL, good one. Thanks guys for your input, .

7. DeluxeRed

DeluxeRed

Jun 2, 2009