I want to be able to call myself a bassist - not a guitarist who has a bass. Help!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by MackieBass, Jun 17, 2021.

1. MackieBass

MackieBass

Jun 3, 2021
    I recently bought myself a bass and am enjoying it beyond what I thought - to the point I want to really learn this amazing instrument. I've been playing guitar for 17 years now and studied jazz performance at university so I'm pretty well versed in things like theory, ear training and composition.

Where I'd really like help is in the technical/practical side of the bass. I've made myself a bucket list to start off with and any pointers to things relating to this would be very much appreciated.

3-finger technique
    I've been playing with a pick but I want to learn proper finger technique. Right now I can play groups of 3/4 with fingers on open notes crossing strings, but scales and licks is a no-no.

Im not sure when I should be using different fingers or if I should just stay with 3-2-1 all the time as I would alternate picking on guitar.

Slap/Rhythmic Technique
    Here I'm talking about basic slap/pop with left hand percussive noises and ghost notes etc

2. Explore Talkingbass - Bass Lessons, Courses and Resources

Go to the Free Lesson Map and you will find a plethora of lessons, all organized by topic, for just about anything you want to learn. This should get you started untill some others come along with some more advice . . .

3. It's interesting that you want to learn three finger technique. Most bassists, when playing fingerstyle, use two (index and middle).

4. And by the way, welcome to the low end!

fleabitten likes this.
  5. MackieBass

MackieBass

Jun 3, 2021
    I'm a huge metal player/fan. That's the main reason

6. Happy Face

Happy Face Supporting Member

May 3, 2007
    Portland, Maine
    The big difference is that when you play bass, you are part of the rhythm section. Many beginners, myself included, fail to understand that at first.