1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I want to build a 4x15 but...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by distrot, Sep 29, 2008.

1. distrot

distrot

Mar 26, 2007
    I want to build a 4x15 but...I have little to no experience building cabs I know I want a sealed cab for a nice tight sound. I will have to calculate the proper size of cab to allow the speaker to work properly and not blow so I figured I would follow the specs of a cab that already exists. I have a friend who is a kitchen cabinet maker so I have access to all his tools and help, and I will get my local repair man to wire it up.

I need some tips as well as advise to avoid the commen pit falls, basically what am I missing and forgetting to consider.

i want the final product to be similar to this OM_2.

2. Honestly I would google "bass cabinet building" or "speaker cabinet building" or something like that. I think you will find a lot of info. I have never attempted building my own cabinet but there are numerous things to consider from the volume of the box to the thickness of the walls, what kind of wood to use etc etc. Engineering plays a big part in a good sounding cabinet.

3. distrot

distrot

Mar 26, 2007
    i figured that I would need to make some serious calculations to make sure it all worked out.

4. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

Sep 10, 2008
    Pomona, SoCal
    Damn, a 4 x 15? Youre looking at a huge cab there! That thing will be at least as big as an 8x10, but hell yeah! Blow the doors off those venues!

5. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    Your first pitfall has been to decide on a speaker configuration rather than a tonal and SPL requirement. Your second pitfall has been for that configuration being guaranteed to result in a cab that is far bigger and heavier than you need.