I want to BUILD A carbon BASS!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by alexlotta, Jul 1, 2005.

1. alexlotta

Jul 1, 2005
    Hi people .
    I'm an absolute beginner ,italian.
    I'm so excited ai foun d a place like that for bass guitar.

For serious problem on a shoulder i need a light bass ,6 strings.

With a luthier friend of mine we began to project a 6 strings carbon bass.
    ANyone could give me some tips for the CArbon?There are mistake to NOT to DO ?

or advice to give to the bass less "cold sensation",typical o carbon?

1) in italy I DON't find enough resources for the parts,
    i would need a (possible not expensive) shop th. send parts to europe.

2) i need advice on bridges , pickup and so on guys!!.

I would like to use single coil configuration ,
    for a "ROCK-bass" ,and to put them on humbucking if i need it .
    What you think about (which brands? for example).

I've heard about EMG-TW pickups th. are both single and dual coil inside ,but i did'nt hear the sound or comments about it .
    Could be that good for me?

THANKS in advance GUYS ,and please forgive my poor english..
    in italian there are no valid resources for that kind of things .

Pleaze help that enthusiastic guy!! :hyper:
  2. Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    Wow..sounds like a great idea. I'm sure it would be pretty expensive though. it would be hard to find a piece of carbon that large. All the power to you though. Watch out for neck dive with that light body.. You might want to consider making the neck out od carbon too to avoid the neck dive. I'm really interested in teh project so keep us posted.
  3. for pickups, you could install a humbucker with a coil tap. It will give you the humbucking pickup when you need it, but when you need the single coil sound, just flip a toggle and boom, you're wired in single... or paralell if you choose!

I suggest, for a humbucker, either bartolini or Seymour Duncan BassLines.