Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I want to play bass, but I also don't want to let my father down...help!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by nosajwp, Jun 14, 2005.

1. nosajwp

nosajwp

Jun 14, 2005
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Ok guys, I'm new here, but not to bass playing. I've been playing off and on for the past 15 years or so, and in that time I have also played guitar here and there, and have also been an avid drummer. I really love playing bass though, for reasons I'm sure you guys can all relate to. I've been without instrumentation for the past few years due to financial reasons, but have recently aquired a really nice guitar and amp, but after noodling around with them some, I realize my passion is the bass.

My dilemma is this...my father is a drummer, who wanted to play guitar but couldn't. His hands and fingers are waaay too stubby. I think he takes pride in the fact that I can play guitar, and I think he thinks I wouldn't be living up to my potential as a bass player.

What would be a good way to tell him that I enjoy bass more, so that he can understand where I am coming from?

2. PunkerTrav

PunkerTrav

Jul 18, 2001
    Canada & USA
    How old are you? If you've been playing for around 15 years I can only assume you are at least 25 years old and your father should be "middle aged"-ish.

I don't think you should be worried about letting your father down at all. At this stage in the game it's time for him to buck up and stop living through you.

Concentrate on not letting yourself down as a musician first.

3. nosajwp

nosajwp

Jun 14, 2005
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I'm 27, and I have a very close relationship with my father. You're right though, why be a guitarist wanting to be a bassist, when I can just skip the middleman.

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000