Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I want YOUR help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fretbuzz, Apr 8, 2002.

1. ok, ive been playing bass for about 1 1/2 years, all fingertyle, i was unable to play with a pick. i bought a strat copy and was forced to learn how to handle a pick and am having some good success now. everything seems to be moving right along, but my lack of musical knowlage or theory is starting to get the best of me. i just find it so dry and i never feel like im making progress when i study. so has anybody have some unique ways to learn theory slowly and have fun at the same time? if you've read this and said to yourself. "what a dumbass" your more than likely right, however if you have some helpful drills or study materials that im unaware of please pass them along. im old and stupid so bear with me.

2. FalsehoodBass

FalsehoodBass

Jul 22, 2001
    Denver, CO
    look for someone to take lessons from.... ?
    Getting a book and reading it yourself can be difficult, but working with an instructor can be quite helpful.

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    Well, the way I see it, one way to have "fun" studying theory is to see how you can put what you've learned to some use. Myself, I'm the type of person who always asks "What's this good for?" when I learn something...

Anyway, one way to do this is to analyze a few of your favourite albums. A good teacher should be able to help get you on the right track. Once you start to see how your favourite bass players create their lines, it might well inspire you to make some! :cool: