1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I went to a blues jam at a local bar...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by progrmr, Apr 7, 2009.

1. progrmr

progrmr

Sep 3, 2008
    Columbus, Ohio
    I was amazed that these people had never played together before but at the drop of a hat could throw together a pretty good sounding song! Clearly there is a common foundation that they are using to create this music.

I'm motivated to add blues instruction to my current primary focus of study: reading music. As a total blues beginner, I did some searching and discovered the "circle of 5ths" and the 12-bar "pattern".

But what else is next? Should I just buy a book or are there some good online resources (my searching gets lots of results, but its hard to tell if I'm getting good info)? Does one start with chords and applying the 12-bar pattern? Or learn blues scales that apply to specific chords (is this even true?) and try to mix it up?

Pretty overwhelming on one hand, but pretty exciting to be scratching the surface of something that from what I've read is must-know material for any bass player with his/her salt. Any recommendations?

2. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    My recommendation is to buy some recordings by the greats (Muddy Waters, B.B. King, Howlin' Wolf, Buddy Guy, Junior Wells, Albert King, Freddie King, Little Walter, to name a few) and play along. Using your ear is better than learning from a book, in this case. (IMHO) Even if it takes you a week to learn one song, it's better.

3. kenlacam

kenlacam

Nov 8, 2005
    akron, ohio
    Youtube-the best source for free lessons and to see some fantastic players get their groove on.

4. cmewhinney

cmewhinney

Jul 11, 2008
    Concord, NH
    +1