Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I woke up today and realized I don't know jack!

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Rodan, Apr 27, 2002.

1. Mike,

I'm fairly new to TB and feel like being part of this group has all of a sudden made realize that I really know nothing about bass!

I've been playing bass for almost 14 years now, and play bass almost daily. Although I am not playing in a band now, since I started playing bass I have played in about 4 or 5 original rock bands. With one of them, we even made a cd (in 1996), which got decent airplay at some college radio stations around the country. With this band, I must have played at least 100-150 shows over the course of 4 years, everywhere from Atlanta to NY. I don't think the stuff I played veers from much the rock context, but since it did have some jazz elements and was mostly instrumental, some of the music required a decent amount of technical playing. For some whacky listening, click here: http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/279/tractor_hips.html (If you check this out, I only recommend listening to "Sesquialtera" or "Luciernagas" - everything else is not very good)

Now here's the thing - I know what a major scale is, and a minor scale is, but I don't know a damn thing about modes, chords, etc. I never learned the circle of fifths, I can't play but the most simple bass lines without having to look at the fretboard. It has dawned on me that I have a good ear and have learned about music "from the gut". I've always thought that I am a decent bass player, but lately, after spending a lot of time in TB I realize that I never developed the musical skills that might allow me to become and even better player.