I wonder if Bass is for me?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mykel, Apr 7, 2004.

1. Mykel

Apr 7, 2004
    Hi there. I guess I'll start from the beginning. I started playing Classical acoustic guitar about a year ago. After I took some initial lessons, I went on my own for a bit and worked on chords and tab... I'm not too well versed at reading music yet but I'm slowly picking it up.

Anyway, I find myself at a cross-roads. I've decided that I want to switch to an electric instrument, I'm really tired of the slow, fat-neck of the typical Classical guitar... and I want some more complex sound :). In a year of playing though, some of my chord changes come slow, and it's no easy task for me. I guess I was wondering if I'd be a good candidate for Bass? I don't know much about Bass guitar. So here are some questions, I know everybody here is "Pro-Bass", but I'm a newbie just the same.

1. Which is easier to learn for a relative beginner like myself?

2. I understand Bass guitars come with 4, 5 and even 6 strings... which would be best for typical alternative rock/punk rock songs that I typically play?

3. Can I get by with just reading tab?

Above all, any help you can lend me is good. I basically need an "introduction" which I haven't been able to find online, if anybody has any helpful links, those would be appreciated too.

Thanks a lot,
  2. ill try to answer to the best of my abilty.....

1.I consider its how far you want to go with your instrument and how hard you make it, if you think somethings easier, it might be or it might not be. i dont consider guitar harder nor easier than bass.

2.Well basses come in a lot more that just 4,5 and 6, but i would start out with a 4 and advance from there.

3.Yes you can, but you should know some musical things.
  3. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003