IAMP800- turned on and smoke came out of the right vent

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by djshawn47, Jan 18, 2006.

1. I just recieved a used (in new condition) IAMP800 and when i turned it on (mute on, and both input and output knobs were all the way down), smoke came out of the right vent, but everything seems to play ok. At least i think. I have never used one before so i dont know if there is something i am missing, or not hearing.

Does anyone know what this smoke could have been or what might the results of this happening be.

I do notice that the amp is very noisy....espescially as i turn up the input gain, it seems as if the amp is not grounded and i have to have my bass face away from the amp to get rid of the hum (it is a n active bass). I did not have this problem at all with my other amp(s).

Anyone have any ideas..... is this noise from the amp normal with IAMPs or do you think this is a result of whatever happend that made the amp smoke.

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Lesson Number 1: Do not, repeat, not, under any circumstances, let the smoke out of an amp.

It is hermetically sealed in at the factory and could cause damage by its release.
  3. Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    are you using an "instrument" cable to the speaker? or "speaker" cable?

from your guitar are you using a "speaker" cable or "instrument" cable.

Are you close to a tv when you get buzz or under fluorecentl lights? neon lights?
  4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Not really.

I will say that the EA customer service is stellar, so you'll surely get your amp repaired quickly, and properly.

5. gfab333

Mar 22, 2000
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Try contacting the guys at EA directly via email or telephone. They will respond promptly.