ibanez bashing

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by clef360, Sep 20, 2003.

1. i know there's been a lot of ibanez soundgear bashing going on in these forums, and since i'm fairly new to bass, and happen to own an sr645, i was wondering what specifically is bad about ibanez basses, and if there's anything that i can do to remedy some of these problems(besides selling it)
  2. I dunno. I have always found the Ibanez tone lacking warmth and feeling. It's not that it sounds hi-fi. More like it sounds thin, almost like it's missing definition. I really can't play them without cringing. Some people like the tone, but I have never played an Ibanez I liked more then marginally. All a matter of taste I imagine.
  3. ozellman

Jan 6, 2003
    Ibanez basses hae their pros and cons just like all other brands. The good things about them are their playability, for players with small hands in particular, their reasonable weight and pretty consistent quality. They do however have a rather weak tone due to the skinny and relatively unstable neck which give the 5 and 6 strings in particular a rather weak B string. Higher end instruments generally have more stable necks made out of better wood and they are usually not as thin as the Soundgear necks. This is true also for the more expensive Soundgears, although to a somewhat lesser degree. The soundgears (and Ibanez basses in general) also suffer from their poor pickups and electronics. Their higher end instruments have lately been equipped with Bartolinis though.

For a beginner, those downsides might be less of a problem than for a recording pro. If you like your bass, stick to it. It can certainly be improved soundwise by replacing the pickups but it might or it might not be worth the price depending on how happy you are with the bass in general.

4. What do you mean by "these" problems??

I've liked most ibanez basses I've played.. And I think they are great for their price.
  5. yoshi

Jul 12, 2002
    England, London