Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ibanez Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ASR, Apr 13, 2001.

1. ASR

ASR

Apr 2, 2001
    Houston, Texas
    Okay. I see a lot of Ibanez bashing going on here. I have been a guitarist for 11 years, and I love Ibanez guitars, so when I decided to play bass, I bought an Ibanez. I am trying to decide on a new bass, and I was thinking Ibanez, but after all the comments I have seen here, I may re-evaluate. Can I get some feedback on why the Ibanez bashers don't like them?

2. go out and try one out...i've read what ppl have been saying here also. So, i went to GC and tried a Soundgear out (SR-405)...i loved it...the neck felt like Heaven and the sound was just what i was looking for...i think the reason why ppl don't like it is because they play jazz or blues a lot...a Soundgear isn't that kind of bass (don't be fooled by Gary Willis, his SDGR is modded like hell).

3. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Well, Ibanez guitars are great! But this does not apply to basses in the same amount.
    The only Ibanez bass that I have actually liked a lot is the ATK300.

Why Ibanez basses arent so good?

-Poor wood selection. Most Ibanez SoundGears were made of Basswood (SR800,SR1000) wich is a wood that sucks. Also, because they mass produce them in Korea(most of em) they pickup almost any piece of wood, it could be crap or it could be very nice.
    This is something to worry, especially when thinking of neck wood.

-Bad Electronics. The Electronics on the 2 Band EQ are almost usuable but very weak. The Vari-Mid tone control is the most horrible thing I have ever used in my life.
    The electronics on the ATK were another story, they did sound.

-Cheap Pickups. MightyMite DX and ADX pickups are not very clear and I personally dont like the sound.