Ibanez GSR200 or Yamaha RBX 170 ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Special_Ed, Oct 3, 2004.

1. Special_Ed

Oct 3, 2004

I am a newbie looking to start the bass guitar. I have been doing some research on these forums and it seems either the Ibanez GSR200 or Yamaha RBX 170 is the way to go. Which do you think would be more ideal for someone looking to join a DEATH METAL band? Could either of these hold up in a metal band or on stage?

I could spend up to about $350 max. I could spend more but I don't want to invest a bunch of money into a bass until I know *** im doing.
  2. Special_Ed

Oct 3, 2004
    Also, should I get a 4 string or a 5 string bass?
  3. Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma
    go ibanez. i believe thats what the bassist from dying Fetus uses. You know who that is don't you? he doesnt use the Gsr200 though
  4. Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    I belive the consesus is, both are good basses for the money. I suggest you try to play both and see which one sounds good for you.

I can personally recomend the Ibanez GSR200, it was my first bass.
  5. kyo

Jul 6, 2004
    i just want to say that both dying fetus and funeral for a friend (since your name is juneau im guessing its in reference to them) both rock.

i am incidentely about to try both of these basses tomorrow afternoon, i'll tell you which i'd recommend better after that
  6. Special_Ed

Oct 3, 2004
    Thanks Kyo, I'll be waiting. Should I get a 4 or 5 stringed bass for death metal?
  7. kyo

Jul 6, 2004
    well it depends. i personally like 4 strings way better, they're just more comfortable. however, alot of the heavier bands like to use 7 string guitars. if thats your situation then its possible to play along with a 4 string with some serious downtuning, however it'd be way easier to use a 5er.