Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ibanez soundgear basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hkbassist, Jan 30, 2001.

1. hkbassist

hkbassist

Jan 30, 2001
    Hi,
    I am looking for one IBANEZ SR series bass,i come from HONGKONG.Recently,i saw one IBANEZ SR590 from my local dealer.
    Is it good?where it made?

PLEASE help me and suggest me to buy one new bass,i am a rookie.
    THANKS!

2. NJXT

NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE
    I had 2 Ibanez SR :
    - SR405, my fisrt 5 strings, which was a nice bass but not great. Lack of Depth in sound and the neck wasn't comfortable to me.
    - SR800, 4 strings, and I really loved it. The active electronic was great and the neck was really fast, thin and smooth. Loved it. It was a really light, fast, comfortable bass. Excellent for slapping/tapping sort of things.

3. mikemulcahy

mikemulcahy

Jun 13, 2000
    The Abyss
    I am just waiting for Munji to come in here and blow a gasket (j/k Munji)!! I have a 400 and i like it alot. Although I will admit the pre amp leaves alot to be desired and i replaced mine.

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Hey Mike, I am thinking of replacing the preamp in my 506.

What kind of preamp did you go with?

Did it make a big improvement in the sound?

5. alx564

alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    The Soundgear Series is great for beginners. I have been playing for about a year and I wanted a five string so I got a SR405. I love it even though I know its not the greatest bass out there. I would definentely suggest Soundgears for beginners, like me. Mine was made in Korea.

6. RETSAMPALS

RETSAMPALS

Sep 10, 2000
    WWWWOOOAAAHHH
    damn! another bassist in Hong Kong!
    that makes two of us!!!
    lemme guess did you go to tomlee? <--- they are overpriced bastards

7. hkbassist

hkbassist

Jan 30, 2001