Ibanez: SR 505 vs BTB 405 QM

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassplayer#dan, Feb 11, 2005.

1. Hi guys! I own a Fender Pbass MIM and I know Ill need something more versatile and more playable in the future, as soon as I can afford it indeed. Pbass is a good bass but... its not the definitive bass for me (Im having a bad time finding my bass considering Ive been playing for about 2 years and Ive had 5 basses so far...it sucks).

So thats the deal. Ibanez took my attention, and Ive heard they are quite good, similar to Yamaha quality, which I love. Im trying to decide between the SR 505 and the BTB 405 QM. What do you think of these two basses?

Some info: I play in a pop-rock band, not any flashy, you know, just playing in the pocket and laying down some nice fills. Apart from the band, I play lots of slap, tapping and harmonic stuff cause Im a fan of funk and prog, so I need it to be versatile and comfortable for slap and tap.

Thx in advance. ;)
  2. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    I prefer the BTB 405QM.
    However, you gotta consider that it`s 35", has wide string
    spacing and is a bit heavy.
    OTOH, it`s quite versatile, well constructed and the 3 band Eq with sweepable mids is a nice feature.
    Anyway, play them both before you decide.
    Don`t decide based on other people comments. What`s good for ones maybe bad for others.
    Good luck.
  3. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
  4. Ive got the 406, and a friend of mine has the 505, i personally think the BTB is a much better sounding bass, the 505 just sounded flat in comparison, the btb's are a little heavier, and they dont have the thinner necks of the SR's, but as suckbird said, try them both
  5. SlavaF

Jul 31, 2002
    Edmonton AB