Ibanez SR model comparison

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by P1h3r1e3d13, Aug 26, 2013.

1. P1h3r1e3d13

P1h3r1e3d13

Jun 9, 2012
    I'm a beginner/intermediate bassist looking for a step up (and a string up!) from my Squier Affinity. I've been shopping Ibanez Soundgears (I just love that neck!), but I couldn't find any straight answers about what all the model numbers mean. I'm hoping some Ibanez aficionados can help me out.

I gleaned the following info from these pages:
    PNDvuhz.png
    (I left off the cheapies and the fancies. I'm looking in the $400–500 neighborhood, new or used.)

Does that seem right? Am I missing any important distinctions?

It looks like the sweet spot is at the 505 level: better bridge, pickups, and EQ, plus neck and joint. Above there, it's just body woods, and I don't know that I'm good enough yet to be picky about that.

Thoughts? Advice?

2. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    Supposedly, the higher the number, the higher quality, or added features, or more complex construction the bass has. They are all good. I gig regularly with a 2011 SRA305, a MRSP $700 bass I got on closeout for $279, and I am more than pleased with it for a gigging 5-er to go with my custom P/J.

The bottom line is that Ibanez is aware of players' budgets and price points, and offers a range of instruments accordingly. Whichever bass fits your budget and playing style will be a good bass.

3. Ibanez SR quality starts being excellent in the sr500 and up (500, 505, 506, ect..)
    So you're on the right track with the 505.
    I started playing on GSR200, and have owned the SR300. I've since traded up for the sr600 which I LOVE. I recommend that one if you can find one but don't get me wrong, I've never had an SR model that I didn't absolutely love.

4. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead!

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX