Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ibanez SR300. Is it a complete low end?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gfgfgf, Jul 1, 2005.

1. gfgfgf

gfgfgf

Apr 27, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
    I used to have Ibanez SR300 a long time ago,
    when I just started to play bass. Then I sold it... Now I need a bass
    to do some "in-line" recording at home and maybe even to take it to
    the jams. Is Ibanez SR300 a complete low-end crap, or could it be used
    for something? The thing is I'm a guitarist with a high-end guitar gear and I just needed a bass for "playing with it", so I do not want to spend $1000 for something I'm not sure I'm going to use.

2. The first question you have to ask is "How much am I willing to spend." Off the top of my head, I don't remember how much the SR300 costed, but for 4 strings, the SR's are pretty good. If you want to go a little more upscale than that, you could check out the Ibanez BTB series, all of which rock. I believe the 4 strings start at around 500 or 600.
    I don't think I understood you're current situation. What type of bass do you have now, if any?

3. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    I had the SR300 as my first bass, too, and I wouldn't recommend it.
    Sounds too dead. Bad electronics. etc.

What type of tone are you looking for?
    Anyway, check out the SX aka Essex megathread if you want a cheap, but decent bass.

4. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Said it once, will say again: Check out SX.

Better than Fenders (MIMs)

5. I have an Ibanez sr300 .... its a POS. I upgraded with a 500 dollar used Hwy 1 Fender Jazz...

6. SBassman

SBassman

Jun 8, 2003
    Northeast, US
    I have played many SR series basses, including the SR300, and I think they are solid, great-value basses.