1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ibby SR300 G String

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by msh26, Apr 3, 2013.

1. msh26

msh26

Aug 4, 2012
    Noob here, I have been learning to play on my new Ibanez SR300 with the stock strings. Please forgive, but my G string sounds so tinny and unlike other songs players that I practice to. Is this normal for this bass or should I look at some new strings that give more bottom end to the G string?

2. tylerwylie

tylerwylie

Jan 5, 2008
    Dunwoody, GA
    Changing strings is one of the first things to change to see if it keeps happening since strings are relatively cheap. Before that though, look up the Ibanez specs on their web page and check how far the strings should be from the pickups. If the pickup is too far away from the string, it will sound thin.

Also I'd make sure the string is making a solid break over the bridge saddle and nut as well.

If the issue persists with new strings, it might be a result of just lower quality pickups.

3. FourBanger

FourBanger

Sep 2, 2012
    SE Como
    And, though it sounds silly, especially if you are new to bass you might not have thought of it, but play those notes further up on the D string instead of on the G. It usually sounds better, fuller, less tinny, and was probably how the guys you are listening to did it as well.

I'd rather climb the neck a little than play anything below the 5th fret on the G.

4. msh26

msh26

Aug 4, 2012
    Thanks guys. Good suggestions! :hyper: :bassist:

5. dhuff8870

dhuff8870

Nov 15, 2012
    Youngstown, OH
    I have the same bass and mine is the same. I think it's caused by the not-so-great pickups. I love the bass but I think I'm going to look into upgrading at least the bridge p'up.

6. tylerwylie

tylerwylie

Jan 5, 2008
    Dunwoody, GA