1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

ICONS AMONG US and bassdogemer

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Ed Fuqua, Apr 28, 2009.

1. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Has we chatted about this yet?
    http://www.iconsamongus.com/
    I caught part of an episode ( I guess?) last night and in many ways it's everything that the Kenston Burnsalis saga was not - it talks to the musicians more than the historians, folks talk about there own experiences and thoughts rather than trying to define what everybody else is supposed to think. More "why I'm a jazz musician" than " what jazz am and amn't". The section that I caught had the Danilo Perez trio, Dave Holland, Esperanza Spaulding a couple of cats I didn't know and they didn't label AS WELL AS our very own Andrew Emer (bassdogemer) performing with Will Bernard's quartet, VERY happening.

They had Herbie and Wayne and the above mentioned folks as talking heads as well, and the film does suffer from the Burnsalis "talking over the music" syndrome. And as a personal gripe, the piano player with Esperanza is playing just this killing solo and the camera NEVER SHOWS HIM, it's always on her.

2. Mike Arnopol

Mike Arnopol Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 4, 2005
    Chicago
    Owner of MAS Soundworks