1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Idea for a Bass rig - thoughts please?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jamco, Jul 18, 2007.

1. Jamco

Jamco

Jul 7, 2007
    Hey guys,

I'm looking to build my first bass rig for rehearsals and small-medium sized gigs.

I'm thinking of getting a Gallien-Krueger 400RB IV Head and hooking it up to a Peavy 410 TVX 4 ohm head. I don't want an overly heavy or bulky bass rig, thus I would prefer a single cab setup.

Please could I have your opinions/further suggestions? And feel free to rubbish the setup (as I am new to the world of bass heads and cabs!).

cheers

2. JayAmel

JayAmel Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Carcassonne, France
    My opinion is that if you don't want too heavy a rig, the TVX might not be the best cab for you (96 lbs).

3. Jamco

Jamco

Jul 7, 2007
    Can you suggest a lighter 4 by 10 cab that would match the GK 400 RB IV head?

Also, would a single cab setup with this amp be okay for rehearsals and medium to small gigs?

4. fishtx

fishtx Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Endorsing Artist: Genzler Amplification/Spector Basses/Mojo Hand FX
    I use the GK 400RB IV as a rehearsal head (I run it through a Mesa 1x15). It's a great little head for the money, and loud for it's wattage rating. I think it would work out nicely for you.

As for cabs, there are a lot of decent 4x10 cabs out there that weigh less than 96lbs. just do a little shopping around and see what you can come up with.

5. JayAmel

Mar 3, 2002
    Carcassonne, France
    Unfortunately, you didn't fill your profile yet, so I don't know whether you play 4-string, 5-string, etc... This is quite important when it comes to help you choose a 4x10.