1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Identification of a bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassnoob76, Aug 30, 2007.

1. bassnoob76

bassnoob76

Aug 30, 2007
    Total noob here...I bought this bass and have no clue what brand it is etc. Anyway to find out? Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks

bassJPG.

d035_1.

2. Waspinators

Waspinators

Jul 22, 2007
    South Florida
    Just a no-name P-bass knockoff.

3. bassnoob76

bassnoob76

Aug 30, 2007
    thanks!

4. well, the body, pickguard, pickups, and etc. hardware certainly look s fender-esque. but the headstock looks like it belongs to a peavy bass...strangely, the decal is missing.

it might be a mash-up of parts...but it certainly looks cool. I say, go with it, gut it, and put some fancy electronics in there.

some bigger pics, close-ups, and pics of hardware, and the control cavity will help.

5. Spector_Ray

Spector_Ray

Aug 8, 2004
    Texas
    Looks like a Peavey Foundation headstock. Peavey also made a P-bass copy so it could be a Peavey body as well.

http://www.gui****octor.com/11_3_05/peavey_foundation_bass_head.jpg

Edit: On second thought, the headstock looks a bit more rounded than a Peavey. It may just be a no-name knockoff.

6. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Supporting Member

Tons of Peaveys had that headstock, not just Foundations.

7. bassnoob76

bassnoob76

Aug 30, 2007
    i've had a few people give me ideas and did some searching, but the head stock on that 'foundation' looks closer to it that any others. the pin-striping on the 'foundation' gives it more of an angled look but when you look just at the wood they are almost identical. thanks for all of the great information!!!
    j-

8. bassnoob76

bassnoob76

Aug 30, 2007